Kenya Library  Association

Switch to desktop Register Login

Maktaba Awards 2015

Maktaba Awards 2015

The Kenya Library Association, Goethe-Institut Kenya and the Jomo Kenyatta Foundation organized the 8th edition of the Maktaba Awards (Library of the Year Awards) on 25th September 2015 at the Louis Leakey Auditorium of the National Museums of Kenya. In the year 2015, 78 entries were received and winning libraries were awarded for innovation, application of modern ICT, preservation of indigenous knowledge, promotion of local content and provision of services to the local community.
The Award aims to recognize excellence in the provision of library and information services in the country. Interested libraries are requested to submit their profiles, clearly indication the unique features that make them qualify for the Award. 

Libraries are assessed in the following categories:
1.    School libraries
2.    Special libraries
3.    Large Public libraries
4.    Community libraries
5.    Government libraries
6.    Academic/Research libraries

The overall price (Library of the Year Award) was won by the library of the  Dr.Robert Ouko Memorial Library”
The full list of winners is as follows:

Community Libraries Category
1.    Dr.Robert Ouko Memorial Library
2.    Micato-Americashare Library
3.    Siaya Community Library

Public School Libraries Category
1.    Alliance High School Library
2.    St. Francis Mang’u Girls High School Library
3.    Our Lady of Nazareth Primary School Library

Private School Libraries Category
1.    Aga Khan Academy Mombasa Library
2.    Makini Schools Library
3.    Loreto Convent  Msongari Primary Library

Special Libraries Category
1.    Kenya Inst. of Curriculum Development Library
2.    National Museums of Kenya Nairobi Library
3.    Nation Media Group Library

Public Libraries Category
1.    KNLS Buru Buru Library
2.    KNLS Nakuru Library
3.    KNLS Narok Library

Academic Libraries Category
1.    Catholic University Library
2.    KCA University Library
3.    USIU University Library

Special Commendation Award
1.    Nduru Girls High School Library
2.    Kaaga School for the Deaf Library

This project is modeled on the German Library of the Year Award. Kenya is the first country in Africa to introduce an annual national award for libraries. It is for this reason that all the libraries that participate in the national Library of the Year Award (Maktaba Award) have every right to be proud of their achievement. Any queries regarding the Maktaba Awards may be addressed to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

University of Nairobi