Kenya Library  Association

Switch to desktop Register Login

Maktaba Awards 2014


Sabine Bretz










The Goethe-Institut Kenya, the Jomo Kenyatta Foundation and the Kenya Library Association organized the 5th edition of the Maktaba Awards (Library of the Year Awards) on 19th September 2014 at the Louis Leakey Auditorium of the National Museums of Kenya. Over 70 entries were received and winning libraries were awarded for innovation, application of modern ICT, preservation of indigenous knowledge, promotion of local content and provision of services to the local community.  

The overall price (Library of the Year Award) was won by the library of the Aga Khan University Library

The full list of winners is as follows:

Academic Libraries:
1) Aga Khan University Library
(2) KCA University Library
(3) Dedan Kimathi University of Technology Library

Public School Libraries:
(1) Nairobi Primary School Library
(2) St. Francis  Girls High School Mang’u Library
(3) Metkei Girls Secondary School Library 
Private School Libraries:
(1) Aga Khan Academy, Mombasa Library
(2) Makini Schools Library
(3) Victors Academy Gitimbine Library  
Community Libraries:
(1) Dr. Robert Ouko Community Memorial Library
(2) Amani Kibera Community Library    
(3) Kenya National Library Services Kibera   

Special Libraries:
(1) Kenya Institute of Curriculum Development Library
(2) National Museums of Kenya Nairobi Library    
(3) Communications Authority of Kenya Library

Public Libraries:
(1) Kenya National Library Services Buru Buru
(2) Kenya National Library Services Nakuru
(3) Kenya National Library Services Meru

Overall Winner:
Aga Khan University Library

Special Mention:
Mathare Youth Sports Association Library

This project is modeled on the German Library of the Year Award. Kenya is the first country in Africa to introduce an annual national award for libraries. It is for this reason that all the libraries that participate in the national Library of the Year Award (Maktaba Award) have every right to be proud of their achievement. Any queries regarding the Maktaba Awards may be addressed to:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. | |



University of Nairobi