Kenya Library  Association

Switch to desktop Register Login

Maktaba Awards 2010

 © Goethe-Institut Kenia





The Goethe-Institut Kenya, the Jomo Kenyatta Foundation and the Kenya Library Association presented in September 2010 for the first time the Maktaba Award.

The Award aims to recognize excellence in the provision of library and information services in Kenya. The introduction of a national library award in Kenya is driven by the realization of the key role that information plays in the modern world and the fact that Kenya is part of the global information society. The Library of the Year Award comes in the form of a cash-prize of Ksh. 250,000/=, books, a trophy and a certificate.

The library of the United States International University is the winner of the prize for Library of the Year 2010.

The winning libraries for 2010 are as follows:


Pos Aca-
School Commu-
Special Public Overall Winner
1 USIU Brookhouse International School Library Webb Memorial Library Communi-cations Commission of Kenya KNLS Nairobi Area Library United States International University 
2 Moi University Library Makini School Library Haller Education Centre Mombasa William Gitobu Library Lamu Fort Library  
3 Kenyatta University Library Mukumu Boys High School Library Amani Kibera Community Library All African Conference of Churches Fort Jesus Library Mombasa  

This project is modeled on the German Library of the Year Award. Kenya is the first country in Africa to introduce an annual national award for libraries. It is for this reason that all the libraries that participate in the national Library of the Year Award (Maktaba Award) have every right to be proud of their achievement. Any queries regarding the Maktaba Awards may be addressed to:
Mail Symbol This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.











University of Nairobi